investorschatroom.com

Sports

Phil Mickelson moving ball: Twitter goes wild US Open mistake

Share
VIDEO: Phil Mickelson Hits Moving Ball Out of Frustration at U.S. Open

Mickelson, who turned 48 on Saturday, hit a moving ball at the par-4 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club. "You take the two shots and you move on". I looked at him and I was like, 'Is this actually happening?!' But honestly, I looked at him and I said to him, 'Sorry, but I can't help but laugh at that.

When it was all said and done, Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty for hitting the ball while still in play, forcing him to walk away with a 10. "He just laughed at me, he had no words to say".

"I don't think the Rules contemplate something like this at the highest level", Fay told Buck.

Afterwards, Mickelson - who is now on +17 after three rounds at Shinnecock Hills - says he has long wanted to give up on a hole by hitting a moving ball.

World number one Johnson was the only man under par through 36 holes, leading the tournament with a four-under total of 136.

Phil Mickelson reacts to a shot from the fescue on the fifth hole during the third round of the U.S. Open.

President Trump meets Singaporean PM for pre-summit talks
In March, Mr Trump surprised the world by accepting an invitation from Mr Kim - delivered via Seoul - to meet in person. Trump is also on his way to Singapore from Canada after attending the Group of Seven leaders' meeting in Quebec.

RACE: Vettel wins in Canada to seize championship lead
Vettel set the pace throughout the Q3 top 10 shootout, posting a time of 1m10.776s on his first run to take top spot. Every single lap I was kind of on the edge just waiting for the power to drop away and disappear.

Maria Sharapova comments on Forbes' list, loss to Muguruza
Halep, who assured herself of retaining the No. 1 ranking with the victory, earned a fourth chance to win her first major title. The women got their matches done before rain arrived at Roland Garros , leaving the men's quarterfinals suspended in progress.

"No question it was going to go down into the same spot behind the bunker".

And two-time US Open champion Curtis Strange added: "He will feel some embarrassment because there are a lot of people and kids watching that really admire this guy".

Mickelson, while putting on the 13th green, smacked a 15 footer by the cup.

"No question it was going to go down into the same spot behind the bunker and I wasn't going to have a shot".

Mickelson has finished runner-up a record six times in the US Open, the last major he needs to complete the set of all four of golf's big titles.

"I've wanted to do it many times before and finally did".

Share