Ballon d'Or: Luka Modric breaks decade of Ronaldo and Messi dominance

Champions League all-time top scorers: Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski add to tallies | Daily Star

The top 30 players, along with the number of votes they received, was widely distributed in the hours leading up to the official announcement of the victor.

Mohamed Salah has arrived sixth in the final ranking of the Ballon d'Or as Luka Modric managed to break Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi's monopoly on the glorious individual prize.

There are 30 candidates on the shortlist for the male award, including 11 Premier League players, Lionel Messi and current holder Cristiano Ronaldo.

"Maybe in the past there are some players who could have won the Ballon d'Or like Xavi or Andres Iniesta but people finally now are looking at someone else".

"Sometimes you have episodes or situations where you feel like, 'Damn, we're in such a man's world, '" she said.

French disc jockey Martin Solveig appeared to embarrass Hegerberg when he asked her if she would "twerk" after she collected the trophy. "Being a women's footballer and winning the Ballon d'Or tonight is a step for me to take that action, personally".

Runners-up Ronaldo, who is now at Juventus, was key to Real Madrid when they retained the Champions League title for the third year in row. "I have sensational feelings in me at the moment which I find hard to describe".

Microsoft briefly dethrones Apple as the most valuable United States company (AAPL, MSFT)
The last time Microsoft was bigger than Apple by this metric was in mid-2010, according to data compiled by Bloomberg . Microsoft's dominance in the PC software market gave it a market value that was larger than Apple's for years.

Paul Manafort: New accusations jeopardize plea agreement
Cevallos said the special counsel likely had evidence to prove Manafort - or possibly even the president - lied to investigators. Manafort and his lawyers had been spotted meeting with investigators in the weeks after his plea deal.

San Diego Shuts Down San Ysidro Port Amid Migrant Caravan
Following the publication of the Post's report, however, Sanchez back-pedaled on those remarks. "We will get work here", she said. His tweets were interpreted as possible confirmation of the alleged deal between the US and Obrador's administration.

Griezmann won both the Europa League and World Cup in 2018, the striker inspirational in the respective triumphs of Atletico Madrid and France.

France coach Didier Deschamps said a France player should have won the award.

The Portuguese - who wasn't in attendance at the event - has won the previous two iterations, but missed out to former Real Madrid teammate Luka Modric.

The Ballon d'Or was first awarded in 1956 and was partnered with soccer's world governing body Federation Internationale de Football Association under the title "The Best" from 2010 to 2015, until becoming its own entity again. The suggestion clearly made Hegerberg uncomfortable.

The talented tyro's exploits saw him net 32 goals and register 13 assists across all competitions for club and country, as he also became the second teenager, after Brazil legend Pele, to score in a World Cup Final.

How did the Ballon d'Or voting work? I don't think the respect has been there. "I let them know, quite clearly, what I found wasn't working".